Development of Stimuli-responsive photopolymers for the 3D-printing of functional active devices

Usman Shaukat

Research output: ThesisDoctoral Thesis

139 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

The goal of the thesis was to develop new stimuli-responsive materials processable by digital light processing (DLP) 3D-printing and streamline their applicability for soft-robotic devices. In order to meet the objectives, a primary focus was on the development of photo-curable resins that are 3D-printable and offered a wide variety of thermo-mechanical properties. Secondly, dynamic covalent bonds were introduced undergoing thermally induced transesterification reactions, which rendered robotic systems malleable and healable.
As a first study, a library of dynamic thiol-acrylate networks was developed and structure-property relationships between resin composition, crosslink density, mechanical performance and bond exchange kinetics were established. For this, an acidic organic phosphate was introduced which did not only stabilize the resins but also served as an efficient catalyst, promoting dynamic bond exchange reactions. This breakthrough opened the path to thermally mendable, reprocessable and malleable dynamic photopolymers. The results showcased that the manipulation of the network structure allowed for effective control of the thermo-mechanical characteristics across a broad range. Rapid bond exchange reactions were facilitated by the abundance of –OH and ester groups, in addition to the high polymer chain mobility. Soft devices with thermal mendability and desirable stretchability were successfully DLP 3D-printed. Additionally, multi-material DLP 3D-printing was pursued to fabricate more advanced soft active devices, by combining the advantages of the developed resin formulations. Two different thiol-acrylate resins, with a varying degree of crosslinking, and widely different thermo-mechanical properties were employed to print prototypes, which exhibited great versatility along with shape memory and thermo-activated healing properties.
As a next step, photolatent transesterification catalysts were exploited as they provide a unique method to spatially control dynamic bond exchange reactions in dynamic photopolymers. In non-irradiated condition, the polymer networks containing the latent catalysts behaved like a permanently crosslinked duromer. However, when subjected to UV-light (365 nm), Brønsted acids were released, which efficiently catalyzed transesterification at elevated temperature and allowed for rearrangement of the network's topology above the networks topological freezing temperature (Tv). Moreover, the insensitivity of the photolatent catalysts to visible light (405 nm) enabled the DLP 3D-printing of sophisticated architectures without premature activation of the catalyst. The investigations demonstrated that the speed at which bonds are exchanged depends on the liberated Brønsted acid’s stability, the quantum yield of the disintegration reaction and the counter-anion’s size. In areas exposed to UV light, the dynamic thiol-acrylate networks exhibited triple shape memory, while non-UV exposed domains functioned as simple Tg-based shape memory materials. This controlled locking of specific areas during thermal programming geared up exciting possibilities for additive manufacturing of functional devices.
Furthermore, to reduce the environmental foot print of the polymeric materials, bio-based vegetable oils were exploited as building block for dynamic photopolymers. As a sustainable building block, acrylated linseed oil was synthesized and combined with selected thiol crosslinkers. An organic transesterification phosphate catalyst was employed in the resin formulations which catalyzed efficient dynamic exchange reactions of the hydroxy and ester moieties present in the network. Excellent storage stability and photocuring kinetics facilitated the DLP 3D-printing of soft-active actuators with shape memory properties and malleability.
To further reduce the dependence on fossil fuel, a bio-based phosphate ester catalyst along with bio-based reactive diluents was synthetized. This target was attained by using eugenol, which is abundantly available from biologically renewable green sources, as starting material. The resin formulations were optimized towards the processability with DLP 3D-printing, and soft active structures with shape memory and healing properties were fabricated.
The outputs of the current thesis underscored the substantial promise of highly functional materials that respond to an external stimulus, whilst novel material concepts and manufacturing approaches have been integrated which set the stage for various future applications in smart active soft-robotics.
Translated title of the contributionEntwicklung Stimuli-responsiver Fotopolymere für den 3D-Druck von funktionalen aktiven Geräten
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDr.mont.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Kern, Wolfgang, Co-Supervisor (internal)
  • Schlögl, Sandra, Supervisor (internal)
  • Griesser, Thomas, Assessor A (internal)
  • Sangermano, Marco, Assessor B (external), External person
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 2023

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • 3D-printing
  • Digital light processing
  • vitrimer
  • transesterification
  • soft-robotics
  • healing
  • bio-based resins
  • photolatent catalysts
  • stimuli-responsive materials
  • soft active devices

Cite this

Development of Stimuli-responsive photopolymers for the 3D-printing of functional active devices

Titel in Übersetzung: Entwicklung Stimuli-responsiver Fotopolymere für den 3D-Druck von funktionalen aktiven Geräten

Usman Shaukat

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenDissertation

125 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Das Ziel der Arbeit bestand darin, neue Stimuli-responsive Materialien zu entwickeln, die durch 3D-Druck mit digitaler Lichtverarbeitung (DLP) verarbeitet werden können, und ihre Anwendbarkeit für weiche Aktuatoren zu optimieren. Um die Ziele zu erreichen, lag ein Hauptaugenmerk der Arbeit auf der Entwicklung Foto-härtbarer Harze, die 3D-druckbar sind und einstellbare thermomechanische Eigenschaften bieten. Weiter wurden dynamische kovalente Bindungen in die Polymernetzwerke eingeführt, die durch thermisch induzierte Umesterungsreaktionen Robotersysteme formbar und heilbar machten.
Als erste Studie wurde eine Reihe dynamischer Thiol-Acrylat-Netzwerke entwickelt und Struktur-Eigenschafts-Beziehungen zwischen Harzzusammensetzung, Vernetzungsdichte, mechanischen Eigenschaften und Bindungsaustauschkinetik ermittelt. Hierzu wurde ein saures organisches Phosphat eingeführt, das nicht nur die Harze stabilisierte, sondern auch als effizienter Katalysator für dynamische Bindungsaustauschreaktionen fungierte. Dieser Durchbruch ebnete den Weg zu thermisch verformbaren und wieder verarbeitbaren dynamischen Fotopolymeren. Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass durch die Anpassung des Netzwerkdesigns die thermomechanischen Eigenschaften über einen weiten Bereich gesteuert werden konnten. Bemerkenswerterweise erleichterte eine hohe Beweglichkeit der Polymerketten zusammen mit der Verfügbarkeit von -OH- und Estergruppen schnelle Bindungsaustauschreaktionen. Weiche Aktuatoren mit hoher Dehnbarkeit und thermischer Formbarkeit wurden erfolgreich per DLP-3D-Druck hergestellt. Darüber hinaus wurde der Multimaterial-DLP-3D-Druck verfolgt, um funktionelle weiche Aktuatoren herzustellen, indem die Vorteile der entwickelten Harzformulierungen kombiniert wurden. Zum Drucken von Prototypen wurden zwei verschiedene Thiol-Acrylat-Harze mit unterschiedlichem Vernetzungsgrad und stark unterschiedlichen thermomechanischen Eigenschaften verwendet, die Formgedächtnis und thermoaktivierten Heilungseigenschaften aufwiesen.
Als nächster Schritt wurden fotolatente Umesterungskatalysatoren genutzt, da sie eine einzigartige Methode zur räumlichen Steuerung dynamischer Bindungsaustauschreaktionen in dynamischen Fotopolymeren bieten. Im unbeleuchteten Zustand verhielten sich die Polymernetzwerke, die die latenten Katalysatoren enthielten, wie ein dauerhaft vernetztes Duromer. Bei Einwirkung von UV-Licht (365 nm) wurden jedoch Brønsted-Säuren freigesetzt, die die Umesterung bei erhöhter Temperatur effizient katalysierten und eine Neuordnung der Netzwerktopologie oberhalb der topologischen Gefriertemperatur (Tv) des Netzwerks ermöglichten. Darüber hinaus ermöglichte die Unempfindlichkeit der Fotolatenten Katalysatoren gegenüber sichtbarem Licht (405 nm) den DLP-3D-Druck anspruchsvoller Architekturen ohne vorzeitige Aktivierung des Katalysators. Die Untersuchungen zeigten, dass die Geschwindigkeit des Bindungsaustauschs von der thermischen Stabilität der freigesetzten Brønsted-Säure, der Größe des Gegenanions und der Quantenausbeute der Spaltungsreaktion beeinflusst wird. In Bereichen, die UV-Licht ausgesetzt waren, zeigten die dynamischen Thiol-Acrylat-Netzwerke ein dreifaches Formgedächtnis, während nicht UV-exponierte Bereiche als einfache Tg-basierte Formgedächtnismaterialien fungierten. Diese kontrollierte Blockierung bestimmter Bereiche während der thermischen Programmierung eröffnete spannende Möglichkeiten für die additive Fertigung funktionaler weicher Aktuatoren.
Um den ökologischen Fußabdruck der Polymermaterialien zu verringern, wurden außerdem biobasierte Pflanzenöle als Bausteine für dynamische Fotopolymere genutzt. Als nachhaltiges Monomer wurde acryliertes Leinöl synthetisiert und mit ausgewählten Thiol-Vernetzern kombiniert. In den Harzformulierungen wurde ein organischer Phosphatester-Katalysator eingesetzt, der effiziente dynamische Austauschreaktionen der im Netzwerk vorhandenen Hydroxy- und Estereinheiten katalysierte. Hervorragende Lagerstabilität und Fotohärtungskinetik erleichterten den DLP-3D-Druck von weichen Aktoren mit Formgedächtniseigenschaften und Formbarkeit.
Um die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Rohstoffen weiter zu verringern, wurde ein biobasierter Phosphatester-Katalysator zusammen mit biobasierten Reaktivverdünnern synthetisiert. Dieses Ziel wurde durch die Verwendung von Eugenol als Ausgangsmaterial erreicht, das aus biologisch nachwachsenden Quellen verfügbar ist. Die Harzformulierungen wurden in Hinblick auf die Verarbeitbarkeit im DLP-3D-Druck optimiert und es wurden weiche aktive Strukturen mit Formgedächtnis- und Heilungseigenschaften hergestellt.
Im Rahmen der aktuellen Dissertation wurden hochfunktioneller Materialien entwickelt, die auf einen externen Reiz reagieren, während neuartige Materialkonzepte und Herstellungsansätze integriert wurden, die die Voraussetzungen für verschiedene zukünftige Anwendungen in der intelligenten aktiven Soft-Robotik schaffen.
Titel in ÜbersetzungEntwicklung Stimuli-responsiver Fotopolymere für den 3D-Druck von funktionalen aktiven Geräten
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationDr.mont.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Kern, Wolfgang, Mitbetreuer (intern)
  • Schlögl, Sandra, Betreuer (intern)
  • Griesser, Thomas, Beurteiler A (intern)
  • Sangermano, Marco, Beurteiler B (extern), Externe Person
DOIs
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2023

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Digitale Lichtverarbeitung
  • Stimuli-responsive Materialien
  • 3D-Druck
  • Umesterung
  • Fotolatenten Katalysatoren
  • Weiche Robotik
  • Funktionsgeräte
  • Thermische Heilung

Dieses zitieren