Investigating Possibilities to Automatically Capture Drilling Lessons Learnt

Alina Latysheva

Research output: ThesisMaster's Thesis

211 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

This study is devoted to improving Lessons Learnt reporting quality and procedures at OMV Well Engineering.
The first stage of the work was the analysis of informational support along the well engineering process. Types, capture, and transfer of drilling data were described for all well construction lifecycle phases. Reports were systematically categorized by introducing a four-digit coding, reflecting periodicity, data type, operation, and operation details. The analysis of current well construction reports identified shortcomings in the existing structure of the Lessons Learnt report.
The second step was to propose changes to the Lessons Learnt report structure to increase the effectiveness of the information collected. The distribution of non-productive time for OMV wells was analyzed, which identified drilling problem types. As an example, recommendations of improved Lessons Learnt reports were made for a particular type of problem.
The methodology of generating such a report was developed, which consisted of gathering meta-information and – depending on the type of drilling problem – various analyses of technical specifications and sensor data. The result of the procedure is a Lessons Learnt report, which is stored in a database that the drilling engineer uses in the well planning process during the offset well analysis phase.
In order to automate part of the process and reduce the human effort, a web-based application was created to extract non-productive time information from daily drilling reports or activities data.
In the final part of the work, the proposed methodology for creating the Lessons Learnt report was applied on a real well, and the results were successfully verified with historical data.
Translated title of the contributionUntersuchung von Möglichkeiten zur automatischen Erfassung von Lessons Learnt-Berichten
Original languageEnglish
QualificationMSc
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Keshavarz, Sahar, Co-Supervisor (internal)
  • Arkhipov, Alexey, Supervisor (external), External person
  • Thonhauser, Gerhard, Supervisor (internal)
Award date22 Oct 2021
Publication statusPublished - 2021

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • drilling reports
  • Lessons Learned
  • well planning
  • NPT

Cite this

Investigating Possibilities to Automatically Capture Drilling Lessons Learnt

Titel in Übersetzung: Untersuchung von Möglichkeiten zur automatischen Erfassung von Lessons Learnt-Berichten

Alina Latysheva

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenMasterarbeit

248 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Diese Studie widmet sich Verbesserungen der Qualität und des Verfahrens der Lessons Learnt-Berichterstattung bei OMV Well Engineering.
Die erste Stufe der Arbeit war die Analyse der Informationsunterstützung während der Bohrplanung und -ausführung. Datentypen, Erfassung und Transfer von Bohrdaten wurden beschrieben für alle Phasen im Bohrlochbergbau-Lebenszyklus. Berichte wurden durch die Einführung einer vierstelligen Kodierung systematisch kategorisiert, die die Periodizität, den Datentyp, Art und Details der durchgeführten Tätigkeiten widerspiegelte. Die Analyse der existierenden Bohrlochbergbau-Berichte identifizierte Defizite in der derzeitigen Struktur des Lessons Learnt-Berichts.
Der zweite Schritt bestand darin, Änderungen an der Struktur des Lessons Learnt-Berichts vorzuschlagen, um die Effektivität der gesammelten Informationen zu erhöhen. Die Verteilung der unproduktiven Zeit für OMV-Bohrungen wurde analysiert, was zur Identifizierung der Arten von Bohrproblemen führte. Empfehlungen für einen besseren Lessons Learnt-Report wurden beispielsweise für eine Art von Problem erstellt.
Es wurde eine Methodik zur Erstellung eines solchen Berichts entwickelt. Diese bestand aus der Sammlung von Metainformationen sowie, abhängig von der Art von Bohrproblem, unterschiedlichen Analysen von technischen Spezifikationen und Sensordaten. Das Ergebnis des Verfahrens ist ein Lessons Learnt-Bericht, der in einer Datenbank gespeichert wird, die der Bohringenieur bei der Bohrlochplanung während der Offset-Bohrloch-Analysephase verwendet.
Um einen Teil des Prozesses zu automatisieren und den administrativen Aufwand zu reduzieren, wurde eine webbasierte Anwendung erstellt, die Informationen über unproduktive Zeiten aus täglichen Bohrberichten oder Aktivitätsdaten extrahiert.
Im letzten Teil der Arbeit wurde die vorgeschlagene Methodik zur Erstellung des Lessons Learnt-Berichts an einem realen Bohrprojekt angewendet und die Ergebnisse wurden erfolgreich mit historischen Daten verifiziert.
Titel in ÜbersetzungUntersuchung von Möglichkeiten zur automatischen Erfassung von Lessons Learnt-Berichten
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationMSc
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Keshavarz, Sahar, Mitbetreuer (intern)
  • Arkhipov, Alexey, Betreuer (extern), Externe Person
  • Thonhauser, Gerhard, Betreuer (intern)
Datum der Bewilligung22 Okt. 2021
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2021

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Bohrberichte
  • Lessons Learnt
  • Bohrlochplanung
  • NPT

Dieses zitieren