Irradiation stability and induced ferromagnetism in a nanocrystalline CoCrCuFeNi highly-concentrated alloy

Matheus A. Tunes, Graeme Greaves, Philip D. Rack, Walker L. Boldman, Cláudio G. Schön, Stefan Pogatscher, Stuart A. Maloy, Yanwen Zhang, Osman El-Atwani

Publikation: Beitrag in FachzeitschriftArtikelForschungBegutachtung

35 Downloads (Pure)


In the field of radiation damage of crystalline solids, new highly-concentrated alloys (HCAs) are now considered to be suitable candidate materials for next generation fission/fusion reactors due to recently recorded outstanding radiation tolerance. Despite the preliminarily reported extraordinary properties, the mechanisms of degradation, phase instabilities and decomposition of HCAs are still largely unexplored fields of research. Herein, we investigate the response of a nanocrystalline CoCrCuFeNi HCA to thermal annealing and heavy ion irradiation in the temperature range from 293 to 773 K with the objective to analyze the stability of the nanocrystalline HCA in extreme conditions. The results led to the identification of two regimes of response to irradiation: (i) in which the alloy was observed to be tolerant under extreme irradiation conditions and (ii) in which the alloy is subject to matrix phase instabilities. The formation of FeCo monodomain nanoparticles under these conditions is also reported and a differential phase contrast study in the analytical electron-microscope is carried out to qualitatively probe its magnetic properties.
Seiten (von - bis)20437-20450
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 3 Dez. 2021

Bibliographische Notiz

Funding Information:
Research presented in this article was supported by the Laboratory Directed Research and Development program of Los Alamos National Laboratory under project number 20200689PRD2. O. E. A. acknowledges support from the Laboratory Directed Research and Development program of Los Alamos National Laboratory under the early career program project number 20210626ECR. We are grateful to the European Research Council (ERC) excellent science grant “TRANSDESIGN” through the Horizon 2020 programme under contract 757961 and by the financial support from the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) in the project 3DnanoAnalytics (FFG-No 858040). P. D. R. acknowledges support from the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences, which is a DOE Office of Science User Facility. C. G. S. acknowledges partial financial support by the São Paulo State Research Funding Agency (FAPESP, São Paulo, Brazil), under grant no. 2016/25248-3, and by the Brazilian National Research Council (CNPq, Brasília, Brazil) under the grant 312424/2013-2. All the authors are grateful to the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPRSC) for funding the MIAMI facility under the grants EP/E017266/1 and EP/M028283/1. This work was partially supported by the Energy Dissipation to Defect Evolution (EDDE) programme, an Energy Frontier Research Center funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences under contract number DE-AC05-00OR22725. M. A. T. would like to thank T.M. Kremmer (MUL) for useful discussions on electron-microscopy and for his training on the Thermo Fisher Talos F200X, Prof. A.B. Henriques (USP) for discussions on Atomic and Molecular Physics and Prof. S.E. Donnelly (HUD) with assistance in sample preparation.

Publisher Copyright:
© 2021 The Royal Society of Chemistry.

Dieses zitieren