Isotope, biomarker, and organic petrographic investigations of organic matter-rich rocks in the basement of the Alpine Foreland Basin: Implications for paleoenvironment and source rock potential

Research output: ThesisDoctoral Thesis

48 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Organic matter-rich rocks are potential source rocks for oil and gas but are also valuable archives for past environmental conditions. In this thesis, Permo-Carboniferous and Lower Jurassic sediments from southern Germany and Switzerland were studied, addressing both aspects. To evaluate source potential and depositional environment, organic petrographic, palynofacies, Rock-Eval pyrolysis, and geochemical techniques (incl. biomarker analysis and compound-specific carbon isotopy) have been used.
Permo-Carboniferous sediments in the basement of the North Alpine Foreland Basin (NAFB) occur in post-Variscan graben structures. Upper Carboniferous coals probably charged Switzerland´s only gas deposit, while lower Permian lacustrine shales with high organic matter contents are potential source rocks for oil. The study of the Permo-Carboniferous sediments is based on 90 core samples from borehole Weiach-1 (northern Switzerland). Carboniferous coal seams, up to 10 m thick, were deposited in low-lying freshwater mires. In Weiach-1, they reached a maturity stage corresponding to the onset of gas generation. Organic matter-rich Permian (Autunian) shales were deposited in anoxic lakes with a stratified water column. The organic matter is of mixed aquatic and terrigenous origin. 13C values of pristane and phytane provide evidence for reworking of organic matter in the water column. Locally, the Autunian shales have a very good oil potential. The main shale interval in Weiach-1 is about 12 m thick. It reached early oil window maturity and will generate about 0.35 tHC/m² when mature.
Lower Jurassic rocks with high organic matter contents (Posidonia Shale) represent the Taorcian anoxic event (T-OAE). A prominent negative carbon isotope excursion (CIE; ~183 Myr) is present in the lower part of the T-OAE. Posidonia Shale from an active quarry (Dormettingen; Swabian Alb) and a borehole core, recovered from the basement of the NAFB (Salem; Germany), has been investigated.
The Posidonia Shale at Dormettingen is about 10 m thick and was investigated using a total of 56 samples. Geochemical redox indicators provide evidence for photic zone anoxia during the Toarcian CIE, which reached its maximum after deposition of the “Unterer Stein” marker horizon. Biomarker data suggest enhanced activity of diazotrophic cyanobacteria. Oxygen-depleted conditions, albeit with lower intensity continued after the CIE. All investigated organic compounds replicate the negative CIE. The shift for short-chain n-alkanes, pristane, and phytane, interpreted to reflect marine biomass, varies between 4.5 and 5.0 ‰. This is the highest value observed so far for any Toarcian section. 13C values of pristane and phytane reach a minimum near the base of the CIE interval and increase upsection. Thus, the maximum negative isotope shift predates the strongest basin restriction. In Dormettingen, the Posidonia Shale is immature to marginal mature.
In the Salem borehole, the Posidonia Shale is also about 10 m thick. The lower 7.5 m and the uppermost part of the underlying Amaltheenton Shale were studied using a total of 62 core samples. In contrast to other Toarcian sections, TOC contents are high in sediments deposited during the CIE, but even higher in post-CIE sediments. Biomarker ratios suggest that this reflects strong oxygen-depletion during the CIE (elegantulum to lower elegans subzones), but also during the falciferum Subzone. While the lower part of the Posidonia Shale (tenuicostatum Zone to elegans Subzone) is significantly thinner than in neighbouring sections (e.g., Dormettingen), its middle part (falciferum Subzone) is unusually thick. This suggests that increased subsidence contributed to anoxia and indicates major variations in basin geometry. Although the CIE interval is very thin, δ13C values of n-alkanes confirm the time lag between the maximum negative isotope shift (below “Unterer Stein”) and the strongest basin restriction (above “Unterer Stein”). Moreover, the onset of the CIE is recorded earlier for aquatic than for terrigenous organisms. In Salem, the Posidonia Shale is thermally mature and highly oil-prone. The residual source petroleum potential is about 0.8 tHC/m².
Translated title of the contributionOrganische Petrographie, Isotopen- und Biomarkeranalysen an organisch-reichen Gesteinen im Untergrund des alpinen Vorlandbeckens: Rekonstruktion des Ablagerungsmilieus und Implikationen für das Kohlenwasserstoffpotential
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDr.mont.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Groß, Doris, Co-Supervisor (external)
  • Wagreich, Michael, Assessor B (external), External person
  • Stojanovic, Ksenija, Assessor A (external), External person
  • Sachsenhofer, Reinhard, Supervisor (internal)
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 2023

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • organic geochemistry
  • biomarkers
  • stable carbon isotopes
  • photic zone anoxia
  • water column stratification
  • bacterial activity
  • oceanic anoxic event
  • Permo-Carboniferous sediments
  • Permian lacustrine shales
  • Carboniferous coals
  • hydrocarbon potential
  • gas potential
  • palynofacies
  • anoxic lake
  • palynology
  • Toarcian oceanic anoxic event
  • carbon isotope excursion
  • Lower Jurassic

Cite this

Isotope, biomarker, and organic petrographic investigations of organic matter-rich rocks in the basement of the Alpine Foreland Basin: Implications for paleoenvironment and source rock potential

Titel in Übersetzung: Organische Petrographie, Isotopen- und Biomarkeranalysen an organisch-reichen Gesteinen im Untergrund des alpinen Vorlandbeckens: Rekonstruktion des Ablagerungsmilieus und Implikationen für das Kohlenwasserstoffpotential

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenDissertation

60 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Sedimente mit hohen Gehalten an organischem Material sind potentielle Kohlenwasserstoff-Muttergesteine, aber auch wertvolle Archive für Paläo-Umweltbedingungen. In dieser Dissertation wurden Sedimente des Permo-Karbons und des Unterjuras untersucht. Zur Bewertung des Muttergesteinspotentials und der Rekonstruktion der Ablagerungsbedingungen wurde die Rock-Eval-Pyrolyse eingesetzt und organische petrographische und geochemische Methoden (Biomarker-Analyse; komponenten-spezifische Kohlenstoff-Isotopie) angewandt.
Permokarbone Sedimente im Untergrund des Nordalpinen Vorlandbeckens (NAFB) treten in postvariszischen Grabenstrukturen auf. Kohlen des Oberkarbons sind das wahrscheinliche Muttergestein für das einzige Gasfeld in der Schweiz, während organisch-reiche Seesedimente des Unterperms potenzielle Öl-Muttergesteine darstellen. Die Untersuchung der permokarbonen Sedimente stützt sich auf 90 Kernproben aus der Bohrung Weiach-1 (Nordschweiz). Die bis zu 10 m mächtigen Kohleflöze aus dem Karbon wurden in Niedermooren abgelagert. In Weiach-1 erreichten sie ein Reifestadium, das dem Beginn der Gasbildung entspricht. Die an organischen Stoffen reichen permischen (autunischen) Tonsteine wurden in anoxischen Seen mit einer geschichteten Wassersäule abgelagert. Das organische Material ist aquatischen und terrigenen Ursprungs. Niedrige 13C Werte für Pristan und Phytan belegen die Wiederverwertung organischen Materials in der Wassersäule. Die permischen Sedimente weisen lokal ein sehr gutes Ölpotenzial auf. Das wichtigste Tonstein-Intervall in Weiach-1 ist etwa 12 m mächtig. Es hat die Ölfensterreife erreicht und wird bei fortgeschrittener Reife 0,35 t Kohlenwasserstoffe/m² generieren.
Der unterjurassische Posidonienschiefer repräsentiert das „Toarcische Anoxische Ereignis“ (T-OAE). Eine negative Kohlenstoff-Isotopenexkursion (CIE; ~183 Myr) tritt im unteren Teil des T-OAE auf. Untersucht wurde Posidonienschiefer in einem aktiven Steinbruch (Dormettingen; Schwäbische Alb) und in einem Bohrkern aus dem Grundgebirge des NAFB (Salem; Deutschland).
Der Posidonienschiefer in Dormettingen ist etwa 10 m mächtig und wurde anhand von 56 Proben untersucht. Geochemische Redox-Indikatoren belegen anoxische Verhältnisse innerhalb der photischen Zone. Das Maximum der Sauerstoff-Reduktion wurde während der CIE nach Ablagerung des "Unteren Steins" erreicht. Biomarkerdaten deuten auf eine erhöhte Aktivität diazotropher Cyanobakterien hin. Die sauerstoffarmen Bedingungen setzten sich, wenn auch in geringerer Intensität, nach der CIE fort. Alle untersuchten organischen Verbindungen spiegeln die negative CIE wider. Die negative Exkursion für organische Kommponenten, die von mariner Biomasse abstammt (kurzkettige n-Alkane, Pristan und Phytan), schwankt zwischen 4,5 und 5,0 ‰. Dies ist der höchste Wert, der bisher im Toarcium beobachtet wurde. Die 13C Werte von Pristan und Phytan erreichen ein Minimum nahe der Basis des CIE-Intervalls und steigen im oberen Bereich an. Die maximale negative Isotopenverschiebung erfolgte daher vor der stärksten Beckenabschnürung. In Dormettingen ist der Posidonienschiefer unreif bis marginal reif.
Im Salem ist der Posidonienschiefer ebenfalls etwa 10 m mächtig. Die unteren 7,5 m und der oberste Teil des darunter liegenden Amaltheentons wurden anhand von 62 Kernproben untersucht. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Toarc-Profilen sind die TOC-Gehalte in den Sedimenten der CIE hoch, in den darüberliegenden Sedimenten aber noch höher. Die Biomarkerdaten deuten darauf hin, dass dies starke Sauerstoffverarmung während der CIE (elegantulum bis untere elegans-Subzone), aber auch während der falciferum-Subzone widerspiegelt. Während der untere Teil des Posidonienschiefers (tenuicostatum Zone bis elegans Subzone) deutlich geringmächitger ist als in benachbarten Profilen (z. B. Dormettingen), ist sein mittlerer Teil (falciferum Subzone) ungewöhnlich mächtig. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass eine verstärkte Subsidenz zu den anoxischen Verhältnissen beigetragen hat, und deutet auf erhebliche Veränderungen der Beckengeometrie waährend des Toarciums hin. Obwohl das CIE-Intervall sehr dünn ist, bestätigen die δ13C-Werte der n-Alkane den zeitlichen Abstand zwischen der maximalen negativen Isotopenexkursion (unterhalb des "Unteren Steins") und der stärksten Beckenabschnürung (oberhalb des "Unteren Steins"). Darüber hinaus erfolgte der Beginn der CIE für aquatische Organismen früher als für terrigene. In Salem ist der Posidonienschiefer thermisch reif und ein ausgezeichnetes Öl-Muttergestein. Das residuale Ölpotential beträgt 0,8 t Kohlenwasserstoffe/m².
Titel in ÜbersetzungOrganische Petrographie, Isotopen- und Biomarkeranalysen an organisch-reichen Gesteinen im Untergrund des alpinen Vorlandbeckens: Rekonstruktion des Ablagerungsmilieus und Implikationen für das Kohlenwasserstoffpotential
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationDr.mont.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Groß, Doris, Mitbetreuer (extern)
  • Wagreich, Michael, Beurteiler B (extern), Externe Person
  • Stojanovic, Ksenija, Beurteiler A (extern), Externe Person
  • Sachsenhofer, Reinhard, Betreuer (intern)
DOIs
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2023

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Organische Geochemie
  • Biomarker
  • Stabile Kohlenstoffisotope
  • Anoxie der photischen Zone
  • Geschichtete Wassersäule
  • Mikrobielle Aktivität
  • Ozeanisches Anoxisches Ereignis
  • Permokarbone Sedimente
  • Permische lakustrine Schwarzschiefer
  • Karbone Schwarzschiefer
  • Kohlenwasserstoffpotential
  • Gaspotential
  • Palynofazies
  • Anoxischer See
  • Palynologie
  • Ozeanische Anoxische Ereignisse im unteren Toarcium
  • negative Kohlenstoffisotopenanomalie
  • Unterjura

Dieses zitieren