Microstructure and magnetic properties of high-pressure torsion synthesized hard magnetic materials

Lukas Emanuel Weissitsch

Research output: ThesisDoctoral Thesis

24 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

The rising public awareness of green technologies manifests itself in the increasing demand for renewable energy and electric mobility, leading to an annually raising production of permanent magnets. Performance and efficiency of generators, motors and electric components, rely on the use of high-performance permanent magnets, which contain a significant amount of cobalt or rare-earth elements. However, their production is associated with questionable working conditions and environmental problems related to mining and the availability of these materials is subject to a monopolistic situation. Supply shortages, already recognized by international institutions, represent a critical bottleneck for modern economic and social development.
This work is dedicated to the search of alternatives regarding hard-magnetic materials. Herein, the focus is on two main approaches. First, the utilization of magnetic coupling effects, namely 'exchange bias' and 'exchange coupling', to reduce the amount of critical elements. Second, the formation of a rare-earth free ferro-magnetic phase, in particular $\upalpha$-MnBi. For material processing, severe plastic deformation by high-pressure torsion is conducted, which allows for the application of a high, tunable amount of strain. Using phases with different magnetic properties, this top-down technique results in both, microstructural refinement and strongly refined composite structures, all while maintaining bulk sized samples.
In the pursuit of achieving an exchange bias, extensive microstructural processing and characterization of the Fe-Cr material system are performed. An observed co-deformation of powders limits a sufficient refinement for exchange bias due to a significant hardness increase. The deformation behavior is improved by using arc-melted Fe-Cr ingots as starting material, leading to a refined solid solution. A remarkable temperature stability is reported, hindering a decomposition into finely dispersed Fe and Cr phases. This holds true for both increased annealing temperatures and prolonged annealing times. A multi-sector 2-stage high-pressure torsion process is developed to refine the phases and simultaneously prevent intermixing of Fe and Cr. Despite promising results, no exchange bias is achieved within this material system.



SmCo$_5$ is deformed by high-pressure torsion and serves as a hard magnetic phase for an exchange coupled spring magnet. The coupling is demonstrated across a broad variation of chemical compositions. A change in the operating temperature allows switching between a coupled spring magnet and the uncoupled state. The influence of a high-pressure torsion deformation induced textured microstructure results in the formation of an anisotropic permanent magnet.
In obtaining bulk sized samples, the successful processing of the rare-earth free $\upalpha$-MnBi phase is emphasized. The high microstructural defect density induced by high-pressure torsion enhances the $\upalpha$-MnBi phase formation during a subsequent annealing procedure. A deformation at 2~GPa is preferred over 5~GPa, as well as a higher amount of applied strain. The thermal treatment is improved by applying vacuum conditions and an external magnetic field during annealing. The formed $\upalpha$-MnBi phase is studied and an influence of the sample's shear texture with respect to the applied field direction during annealing is found. This allows to tune the magnetic properties between an isotropic and anisotropic behavior.
Translated title of the contributionMikrostruktur und magnetische Eigenschaften von unter Hochdrucktorsion synthetisierten hartmagnetischen Materialien
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDr.mont.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Mayrhofer, Paul Heinz, Assessor B (external)
  • Würschum, Roland, Co-Supervisor (external), External person
  • Pippan, Reinhard, Supervisor (internal)
  • Clemens, Helmut, Assessor A (internal)
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 2024

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • severe plastic deformation (SPD)
  • high-pressure torsion (HPT)
  • microstructure tuning
  • nanocrystalline material
  • permanent magnet
  • rare-earth free
  • hard magnetic material
  • magnetic coupling mechanism

Cite this

Microstructure and magnetic properties of high-pressure torsion synthesized hard magnetic materials

Titel in Übersetzung: Mikrostruktur und magnetische Eigenschaften von unter Hochdrucktorsion synthetisierten hartmagnetischen Materialien

Lukas Emanuel Weissitsch

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenDissertation

44 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Das steigende Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit für grüne Technologien spiegelt sich in der zunehmenden Nachfrage nach erneuerbarer Energie und Elektromobilität wieder. Dies führt zu einer jährlich steigenden Produktion von Permanentmagneten. Die Leistung und Effizienz von Generatoren, Motoren und elektrischen Komponenten hängt von den gewählten Hochleistungsmagneten ab, die eine erhebliche Menge an Kobalt oder Seltenerdmetallen enthalten. Jedoch stehen die Produktion mit fragwürdigen Arbeitsbedingungen und Umweltproblemen im Zusammenhang, und die Verfügbarkeit dieser Materialien unterliegt einer monopolistischen Situation. Lieferengpässe, welche bereits von internationalen Institutionen erkannt wurden, stellen einen kritischen Engpass für die moderne wirtschaftliche und soziale Entwicklung dar.
Diese Arbeit widmet sich der Suche nach Alternativen im Bereich der hartmagnetischen Materialien. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf zwei fundamentalen Ansätzen. Einerseits wird die Nutzung magnetischer Kopplungseffekte, bekannt unter den Begriffen \glqq exchange coupling\grqq{} und \glqq exchange bias\grqq, zur Reduzierung des Anteils kritischer Elemente ausgenützt. Andererseits wird die Herstellung einer Seltenenerdmetall-freien ferromagnetischen Phase, konkret der $\upalpha$-MnBi Phase, betrachtet. Für die Materialverarbeitung wird eine starke plastische Verformung durch Hochdrucktorsionsumformung angewendet, die es ermöglicht eine hohe und einstellbare Dehnung aufzubringen. Durch die Verwendung von Phasen mit unterschiedlichen magnetischen Eigenschaften führt diese Top-Down-Technik sowohl zu einer Verfeinerung der Mikrostruktur als auch zu stark verfeinerten Verbundstrukturen, wobei die makroskopischen Proben-Abmessungen erhalten bleiben.
Um einen exchange bias zu erreichen, werden umfangreiche mikrostrukturelle Herstellungswege und Charakterisierungen des Fe-Cr Materialsystems durchgeführt. Eine beobachtete gleichzeitige Verformung von Pulvern resultiert in einer nicht ausreichenden Verfeinerung für einen exchange bias, aufgrund einer signifikanten Steigerung der Härte. Das Verformungsverhalten wird verbessert, indem umgeschmolzenes Fe-Cr als Ausgangsmaterial verwendet werden, welches zu einem Mischkristall mit starker Kronfeinung führt. Eine bemerkenswerte Temperaturstabilität wird beschrieben, die eine Zersetzung in fein verteilte Fe- und Cr-Phasen verhindert. Dies gilt sowohl für erhöhte Glühtemperaturen als auch für verlängerte Glühzeiten. Ein mehrsektoraler 2-stufiger Hochdrucktorsions-Prozess wird entwickelt, um die Phasen zu verfeinern und gleichzeitig eine Vermischung von Fe und Cr zu verhindern. Trotz vielversprechender Ergebnisse wird innerhalb dieses Materialsystems kein exchange bias beobachtet.
SmCo$_5$ wird durch Hochdrucktorsiuonsumformung plastisch verformt und dient als harte magnetische Phase für einen \glqq exchange coupled Spring-Magneten\grqq. Die Kopplung wird über eine breite Variation chemischer Zusammensetzungen nachgewiesen. Eine Änderung der Betriebstemperatur ermöglicht die Einstellung zwischen dem exchange coupled Magneten und dem entkoppelten Zustand. Der Einfluss einer durch Hochdrucktorsionsumformung verursachten texturierten Mikrostruktur führt zur Bildung eines anisotropen Dauermagneten.
Im Bezug auf die Herstellung von makroskopischen Proben ist die erfolgreiche Herstellung der Seltenerdmetall-freien MnBi-Phase hervorzuheben . Die hohe mikrostrukturelle Defektdichte, die durch Hochdrucktorsionsumformung verursacht wird, verstärkt die Bildung der $\upalpha$-MnBi-Phase während eines anschließenden Glühverfahrens. Eine Verformung bei 2~GPa wird gegenüber 5~GPa bevorzugt, ebenso wie eine höhere aufgebrachte Dehnung. Die thermische Behandlung wird durch Bereitstellung von Vakuumbedingungen und eines externen Magnetfeldes während des Glühens maßgeblich verbessert. Die gebildete $\upalpha$-MnBi-Phase wird untersucht und ein Einfluss der Scherstruktur der Probe in Bezug auf die angelegte Feldrichtung während des Glühens wurde festgestellt. Dadurch können die magnetischen Eigenschaften zwischen einem isotropen und einem anisotropen Verhalten eingestellt werden.
Titel in ÜbersetzungMikrostruktur und magnetische Eigenschaften von unter Hochdrucktorsion synthetisierten hartmagnetischen Materialien
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationDr.mont.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Mayrhofer, Paul Heinz, Beurteiler B (extern)
  • Würschum, Roland, Mitbetreuer (extern), Externe Person
  • Pippan, Reinhard, Betreuer (intern)
  • Clemens, Helmut, Beurteiler A (intern)
DOIs
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2024

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Hochverformung
  • Hochdrucktorsion
  • Gefügestrukturabstimmung
  • nanokristallines Material
  • Dauermagnet
  • Selten-Erd frei
  • hartmagnetisches Material
  • magnetische Kopplungsmechanismen

Dieses zitieren