Modellierung von Energienachfrageszenarien für das Bundesland Oberösterreich als Wegweiser zur dekarbonisierten Energiezukunft

Translated title of the contribution: Modelling energy demand scenarios for Upper Austria to create a pathway for a decarbonized energy future

Alexander Lurz

Research output: ThesisMaster's Thesis

26 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

In view of global efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, energy demand scenarios have established themselves as a proven tool to identify promising measures to achieve climate neutrality goals. In the context of this work, a range of development options with regard to energy consumption and GHG emissions is to be mapped for Upper Austria, the highly industrialized, most GHG-intensive province of Austria. This is done by modelling three different energy demand scenarios up to the year 2050, which enables the identification of priorities and action plans.
The first scenario called Trend reflects the historical development of energy demand and at the same time serves as a reference for alternative development options to evaluate the effectiveness of measures and assumptions made. The second scenario named With Additional Measures - Upper Austria (WAM-OÖ) represents a path of development for Upper Austria that considers both already implemented and planned political requirements and industrial technology conversions. The third scenario called Sector Coupling (SK) aims to represent a possible path to achieve climate neutrality by 2050. Here, linear optimization is used to model a scenario in which the annual primary exergy demand reaches the minimum value, required to cover the useful energy demand from the scenario Trend in 2050.
The scenario Trend shows an increasing final energy consumption of about 18,2 TWh with a simultaneous increase of GHG emissions by about 2.6 MtCO2e until 2050. In the scenario SK, energy consumption decreases by about 17,3 TWh until 2050 and climate neutrality is achieved through electrification in all economic sectors as well as the use of biomethane, green hydrogen and potential industrial waste heat. In the scenario WAM-OÖ, energy savings due to efficiency improvements and technology changes are offset by factors such as population and economic growth. This results in an increase in energy demand of 3,3 TWh by 2050, while GHG emissions decrease by about 11 MtCO2e to 7 MtCO2e. The simultaneous increase in energy consumption and decrease in GHG emissions can be explained by the fuel shift. In the scenarios WAM-OÖ and SK, fossil fuels are increasingly substituted by climate-neutral energy sources. In particular, the demand for green gas and electricity increases massively within these scenarios. This results in the future challenge of creating sufficient capacities of renewable energy sources as well as expanding the infrastructure of grid-based energy sources along with sectorcoupling flexibility options.
Translated title of the contributionModelling energy demand scenarios for Upper Austria to create a pathway for a decarbonized energy future
Original languageGerman
QualificationDipl.-Ing.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Kienberger, Thomas, Supervisor (internal)
  • Nagovnak, Peter, Co-Supervisor (internal)
Award date20 Oct 2023
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 2023

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • Modelling of energy demand scenarios
  • Development of the energy demand of Upper Austria
  • GHG-emissions
  • Decarbonization
  • Fuel-switch
  • Electrification

Cite this

Modellierung von Energienachfrageszenarien für das Bundesland Oberösterreich als Wegweiser zur dekarbonisierten Energiezukunft

Alexander Lurz

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenMasterarbeit

65 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Angesichts globaler Bemühungen zur Emissionsminderung von Treibhausgasen haben sich Energienachfrageszenarien als probates Werkzeug etabliert, um vielversprechende Maßnahmen zur Erreichung der Klimaneutralitätsziele zu identifizieren. Im Rahmen dieser Arbeit soll für Oberösterreich, das stark industrialisierte, THG intensivste Bundesland Österreichs, eine Bandbreite von Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten in Bezug auf Energieverbrauch und THG-Emissionen aufgespannt werden. Dazu dient die Modellierung von drei unterschiedlichen Energienachfrageszenarien bis zum Jahr 2050, die die Identifikation von Schwerpunkten und Handlungsfeldern ermöglicht.
Das Szenario Trend spiegelt die historische Entwicklung der Energienachfrage wider und trägt gleichzeitig als Referenzszenario für die alternativen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten zur Evaluierung der Wirksamkeit getroffener Maßnahmen und Annahmen bei. Das Szenario With Additional Measures - Oberösterreich (WAM-OÖ) repräsentiert einen Weg der Entwicklung Oberösterreichs, bei dem sowohl bereits umgesetzte als auch geplante politische Vorgaben und industrielle Technologieumstellungen berücksichtigt werden. Das Szenario Sektorkopplung (SK) zielt darauf ab, einen möglichen Pfad zur Erreichung der Klimaneutralität bis 2050 darzustellen. Dazu wird mittels linearer Optimierung ein Szenario modelliert, in dem die jährliche Primärexergienachfrage – zur Deckung des Nutzenergiebedarfs aus dem Szenario Trend im Jahr 2050 – den Minimalwert erreicht.
Im Szenario Trend zeigt sich ein steigender Endenergieverbrauch um ca. 18,2 TWh bei gleichzeitiger Zunahme der THG-Emissionen um ca. 2,6 MtCO2e bis zum Jahr 2050. Im Szenario SK sinkt der Energieverbrauch um ca. 17,3 TWh bis 2050 und durch Elektrifizierung in allen Wirtschaftssektoren sowie den Einsatz von Biomethan, grünem Wasserstoff und industrieller Abwärme wird Klimaneutralität erreicht. Im Szenario WAM-OÖ werden die Energieeinsparungen aufgrund von Effizienzsteigerungen und Technologieumstellungen durch Faktoren wie Bevölkerungs- und Wirtschaftswachstum kompensiert. Daraus resultiert eine Steigerung des Energiebedarfs von 3,3 TWh bis zum Jahr 2050, wobei die THG Emissionen um ca. 11 MtCO2e auf 7 MtCO2e sinken. Die gleichzeitige Zunahme des Energieverbrauchs und Abnahme der THG-Emissionen kann über einen stattfindenden fuel shift plausibilisiert werden. In den Szenarien WAM-OÖ und SK erfolgt die zunehmende Substitution fossiler durch klimaneutrale Energieträger. Insbesondere der Bedarf an grünem Gas und Strom steigt innerhalb dieser Szenarien massiv. Daraus resultiert zukünftig die Herausforderung, ausreichend Kapazitäten an erneuerbaren Energiequellen zu schaffen sowie die Infrastruktur leitungsgebundener Energieträger und Flexibilitätsoptionen zu erweitern.
Titel in ÜbersetzungModelling energy demand scenarios for Upper Austria to create a pathway for a decarbonized energy future
OriginalspracheDeutsch
QualifikationDipl.-Ing.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Kienberger, Thomas, Betreuer (intern)
  • Nagovnak, Peter, Mitbetreuer (intern)
Datum der Bewilligung20 Okt. 2023
DOIs
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2023

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Modellierung von Energienachfrageszenarien
  • Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten des Gesamtenergiebedarfs Oberösterreichs
  • THG-Emissionen
  • Dekarbonisierung
  • Fuel-switch
  • Elektrifizierung

Dieses zitieren