Natural Hydrogen, Exploration at the Southeastern Edge of the Bohemian Massif

Research output: ThesisMaster's Thesis

Abstract

Natural hydrogen is an environmentally friendly energy carrier and source that can play a major role in the energy transition. It can be produced by various subsurface geological processes. These include degassing of primordial hydrogen, fluid-rock interactions (e.g. serpentinization) or radiolysis of water. Hydrogen from microbial production probably plays a minor role only. Biological processes are rather involved in the metabolization and thus oxidation of hydrogen in soil.
The aim of this master´s thesis is to investigate the occurrence of natural hydrogen along the southeastern edge of the Bohemian Massif. The study area has been chosen, because it includes two favourable factors for the occurrence of natural hydrogen. Firstly, the Bohemian Massif is made up of the root zone of the Variscan orogen comprised of lithologies with considerable radioactive content. Secondly, the old but still tectonically active, Diendorf fault may provide pathways for fluid migration. Two areas were studied along the Diendorf fault. The Dunkelsteiner Wald area was studied more closely because this section of the Diendorf fault has the highest frequency of recorded earthquakes. The area of Maissau was selected, because of the prominent fault scarp of the Maissauer Berg due to the Diendorf fault.

As part of the study, soil gas measurements were carried out at 763 measurement locations and were subjected to a statistical analysis. The hydrogen concentrations observed in the Dunkelsteiner Wald were higher overall than in Maissau. The statistical analysis was carried out using a Quantile-Quantile (Q-Q) plot to differentiate the nature of the hydrogen concentration signal in the soil. It is possible to distinguish a background signal (H2 ≤ 9 ppm) and a geological signal (H2 > 48 ppm). The transitional interval (10 - 48 ppm H2) in the Q-Q plot is interpreted as a natural influx that is exceeding the hydrogen uptake capacity of the soil. The result of the statistical analysis is then illustrated with spatial referencing.
In the Dunkelsteiner Wald, the background signal is observed directly in the fault zone, while increased (“geologic”) signal values occur in the vicinity of the fault zone. This is probably related to mylonitization in the core of the fault zone, which reduces permeabilities. In contrast, the brittle deformation of the adjacent crystalline rock resulted in the opening of fractures and the creation of pathways. In the Maissau area, this effect is observed in a similar way, but is less pronounced due to the lower overall hydrogen concentrations in the soil.
It was possible to exclude exogenous addition of carbon dioxide, as oxygen and carbon dioxide concentrations indicate biological respiration. As a conclusion, the work conducted in this thesis is not of sufficient extent to derive information about the actual origin of the hydrogen observed by the soil gas measurements, but highlights that natural hydrogen exists along the Diendorf fault and probably migrates to the surface along the zone of brittle deformation.
Translated title of the contributionNatürlicher Wasserstoff, Exploration am Südostrand der Böhmischen Masse
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDipl.-Ing.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Sachsenhofer, Reinhard, Supervisor (internal)
  • Tari, Gábor, Supervisor (external), External person
Award date22 Mar 2024
Publication statusPublished - 2024

Bibliographical note

embargoed until 13-02-2029

Keywords

  • Natural Hydrogen
  • Primordial Hydrogen
  • Fluid-Rock Interactions
  • Radiolysis
  • Hydrogen Exploration
  • Bohemian Massif
  • Diendorf Fault
  • Dunkelsteiner Wald
  • Maissau
  • Surface Geochemistry
  • Soil Gas Measurements
  • Soil Gas concentration
  • Geostatistics
  • Geophysics
  • Electromagnetic Resistivity Measurements
  • Gamma Spectroscopy

Cite this

Natural Hydrogen, Exploration at the Southeastern Edge of the Bohemian Massif

Titel in Übersetzung: Natürlicher Wasserstoff, Exploration am Südostrand der Böhmischen Masse

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenMasterarbeit

Abstract

Natürlicher Wasserstoff ist ein umweltfreundlicher Energieträger, der im Rahmen der Energiewende große Bedeutung erlangen kann. Natürlicher Wasserstoff kann durch verschiedene Prozesse entstehen. Dazu zählen die Entgasung primordialen Wasserstoffs, Fluid-Gesteins-Reaktionen (z.B. Serpentinisierung) und die Radiolyse von Wasser. Mikrobieller Wasserstoff spielt wahrscheinlich eine untergeordnete Rolle. Vielmehr sind biologische Prozesse an der Verstoffwechselung und damit Oxidation von Wasserstoff im Boden beteiligt.
Ziel der vorliegenden Masterarbeit ist es, das Auftreten natürlichen Wasserstoffs entlang des südöstlichen Randes der Böhmischen Masse zu untersuchen. Der Grund für die Wahl des Untersuchungsgebietes liegt im Vorliegen möglicher Gunstfaktoren für das Auftreten von natürlichem Wasserstoff. Zum einen weist die Böhmische Masse als Teil der Wurzelzone des variszischen Orogens hohe radioaktive Strahlungswerte auf. Zum anderen bietet die tektonisch aktive, tiefgreifende Diendorf Störung einen Weg für die Migration von Fluiden. Näher untersucht wurden der Dunkelsteiner Wald, da an diesem Abschnitt der Diendorf Störung die höchste Erdbebenhäufigkeit vorliegt, sowie das Gebiet um Maissau, weil dort die markante Verwerfung des Maissauer Berges der Diendorf Störung folgt.
Im Rahmen der Arbeit wurden Bodengasmessungen an 763 Messpunkten durchgeführt und einer statistischen Analyse unterzogen. Im Dunkelsteiner Wald waren die beobachteten Wasserstoff¬konzentrationen insgesamt höher als in Maissau. Die statistische Auswertung erfolgte mit Hilfe eines Quantil-Quantil (Q-Q) Diagramms, das eine Unterscheidung der Herkunft verschiedener Wasserstoffkonzentrationsbereiche im Boden ermöglicht. So konnte ein Hintergrundsignal (H2 ≤ 9 ppm) von einem geologischen Signal (H2 > 48 ppm) unter-schieden werden. Der Übergangsbereich (10 – 48 ppm H2) im Q-Q-Diagramm wird als natürlicher Wasserstofffluss interpretiert, der gerade die Wasserstoffaufnahmekapazität des Bodens übersteigt. Das Ergebnis der statistischen Auswertung wird anschließend mit räumlichem Bezug dargestellt.
Im Dunkelsteiner Wald wird das Hintergrundsignal direkt in der Störungszone beobachtet, während in der Nähe der Störungszone erhöhte Messwerte (geologisches Signal) auftreten. Dies hängt wahrscheinlich mit Mylonitisierung in der Störungszone zusammen, welche die Permeabilität reduziert. Im Gegensatz dazu ist das angrenzende kristalline Gestein von spröder Verformung gekennzeichnet, die mit Öffnung von Klüften einhergeht und Migrationspfade schafft. Im Gebiet von Maissau ist dieser Effekt nicht derart stark ausgeprägt, was an den generell niedrigeren Wasserstoffkonzentrationen liegen dürfte.
Es war möglich, eine zusätzliche geologische Quelle für Kohlenstoffdioxid auszuschließen. Jedoch sind die durchgeführten Arbeiten nicht vollständig genug, um Informationen über die tatsächliche Herkunft des bei den Bodengasmessungen beobachteten Wasserstoffs abzuleiten.
Titel in ÜbersetzungNatürlicher Wasserstoff, Exploration am Südostrand der Böhmischen Masse
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationDipl.-Ing.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Sachsenhofer, Reinhard, Betreuer (intern)
  • Tari, Gábor, Betreuer (extern), Externe Person
Datum der Bewilligung22 März 2024
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2024

Bibliographische Notiz

gesperrt bis 13-02-2029

Schlagwörter

  • Natürlicher Wasserstoff
  • Primordialer Wasserstoff
  • Fluid-Gesteins-Reaktionen
  • Radiolyse
  • Wasserstoffexploration
  • Böhmische Masse
  • Diendorf Störung
  • Dunkelsteiner Wald
  • Maissau
  • Oberflächengeochemie
  • Bodengasmessungen
  • Bodengaskonzentrationen
  • Geostatistik
  • Geophysik
  • Elektromagnetische Widersatndsmessungen
  • Gammaspektroskopie

Dieses zitieren