Schwingfestigkeitsprüfung von Al-Legierungen bei erhöhten Temperaturen zur Anwendung im Fahrwerksbereich für Motorsport und Hypercars

Translated title of the contribution: Fatigue testing of aluminum alloys at elevated temperatures for suspension parts in motorsport and hypercars

Max Heimo Martinelli

Research output: ThesisMaster's Thesis

910 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Aluminum wrought alloys like EN AW-6082 or EN AW-7075 are often used for suspension parts such as uprights or wishbones for lightweight construction of the higher priced automotive segment. Heat sources like the braking or exhaust system lead to higher service temperatures of the suspension components nearby, which can affect its strength properties. Due to loads in operation and prolonged service life, components are designed by fatigue strength.
The present thesis includes tension compression fatigue tests of EN AW-6082-T6 and EN AW-7075-T73 at temperatures of 85 °C and 115 °C. Furthermore, a comparison of results with artificially aged samples is done. The aging cycle is modeled on the thermal load over the components service life. For testing quality of the fatigue tests, statistical analysis of the impact of sample quality on testing results is carried out.
In comparison to room temperature, a reduction in fatigue life at 5.000.000 cycles of 7 % at 85 °C and 12 % at 115 °C was determined for EN AW-6082-T6 alloy. With EN AW-7075-T73, a drop in fatigue life of 22 % was measured between 85 °C and 115 °C. No difference in fatigue life was experienced between performing the modeled aging cycle beforehand or not. Likewise, no correlation was found among sample quality and fatigue cycles before cracking, but with quality and result scatter.
Translated title of the contributionFatigue testing of aluminum alloys at elevated temperatures for suspension parts in motorsport and hypercars
Original languageGerman
QualificationDipl.-Ing.
Awarding Institution
  • Montanuniversität
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Pogatscher, Stefan, Supervisor (internal)
Award date17 Dec 2021
Publication statusPublished - 2021

Bibliographical note

no embargo

Keywords

  • fatigue
  • fatigue testing
  • aluminum
  • temperature
  • EN AW-7075
  • EN AW-6082

Cite this

Schwingfestigkeitsprüfung von Al-Legierungen bei erhöhten Temperaturen zur Anwendung im Fahrwerksbereich für Motorsport und Hypercars

Max Heimo Martinelli

Publikation: Thesis / Studienabschlussarbeiten und HabilitationsschriftenMasterarbeit

961 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Im höherpreisigen Automobilsegment finden Aluminium-Knetlegierungen wie EN AW-6082 oder EN AW-7075 aus Gründen des Leichtbaus häufig im Fahrwerksbereich für Radträger oder Querlenker Einsatz. Wärmequellen wie die Brems- oder Auspuffanlage führen zu erhöhten Betriebstemperaturen der anliegenden Fahrwerkskomponenten, wodurch die Festigkeitseigenschaften beeinflusst werden können. Aufgrund der Belastungen im Betriebszustand des Fahrzeugs und der langen geforderten Lebensdauer, findet die Auslegung auf Basis der Ermüdungsfestigkeit statt.
Die vorliegende Arbeit umfasst die Zug Druck Schwingfestigkeitsprüfung von EN AW-6082-T6 und EN AW-7075-T73 bei Prüftemperaturen von 85 °C sowie 115 °C. Aufbauend findet ein Vergleich mit ausgelagerten Proben statt, die die thermische Belastung eines vorgegebenen Lebenszyklus erfahren haben. Zur Erhebung der Qualität der durchgeführten Schwingversuche, wird eine statistische Untersuchung des Einflusses der Probenqualität auf die Ergebnisse vorgenommen.
Verglichen mit Raumtemperatur, beträgt die Abnahme der ertragbaren Lastamplitude bei einer Schwingspielzahl von 5.000.000 bei EN AW-6082-T6 bei 85 °C 7 % und bei 115 °C 12 %. Bei EN AW-7075-T73 wurde zwischen den beiden Prüftemperaturen eine hohe Reduktion um 22 % festgestellt. Zwischen den Schwingergebnissen im ausgelagerten Zustand und den im nichtausgelagerten konnte kein Unterschied festgestellt werden. Hinsichtlich der Auswirkung der Probenqualität wurde keine Korrelation zwischen der erreichten Lastspielzahl und der Probenqualität erkannt, wohl aber zwischen Qualität und Ergebnisstreuung.
Titel in ÜbersetzungFatigue testing of aluminum alloys at elevated temperatures for suspension parts in motorsport and hypercars
OriginalspracheDeutsch
QualifikationDipl.-Ing.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
  • Montanuniversität
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Pogatscher, Stefan, Betreuer (intern)
Datum der Bewilligung17 Dez. 2021
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2021

Bibliographische Notiz

nicht gesperrt

Schlagwörter

  • Schwingfestigkeit
  • Aluminium
  • Temperatur
  • EN AW-7075
  • EN AW-6082

Dieses zitieren