On certain multiples of Littlewood and Newman polynomials

Paulius Drungilas, Jonas Jankauskas, Grintas Junevičius, Lukas Klebonas, Jonas Šiurys

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleResearchpeer-review

2 Citations (Scopus)


Polynomials with all the coefficients in {0,1} and constant term 1 are called Newman polynomials, whereas polynomials with all the coefficients in {−1,1} are called Littlewood polynomials. By exploiting an algorithm developed earlier, we determine the set of Littlewood polynomials of degree at most 12 which divide Newman polynomials. Moreover, we show that every Newman quadrinomial X^a+X^b+X^c+1, 15>a>b>c>0, has a Littlewood multiple of smallest possible degree which can be as large as 32765.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1491-1501
Number of pages11
JournalTaehan-Suhakhoe-hoebo = Bulletin of the Korean Mathematical Society
Issue number5
Publication statusPublished - 2018


  • Borwein
  • Littlewood polynomia
  • Newman polynomials
  • Salem Numbers
  • complex Salem Numbers
  • Polynomials of small height

Cite this