HIGH-TECH METAL POTENTIAL OF SPHALERITE FROM EASTERN ALPINE LEAD-ZINC DEPOSITS AND DEVELOPMENT OF A MATRIX-MATCHED SPHALERITE (ZnS) CALIBRATION MATERIAL (MUL-ZnS-1) FOR CALIBRATION OF IN SITU TRACE ELEMENT MEASUREMENTS BY LASER ABLATION INDUCTIVELY COUPLED PLASMA MASS SPECTROMETRY (LA-ICP-MS)

Research output: ThesisDoctoral ThesisResearch

Authors

Abstract

The “Ad-Hoc working Group on defining critical raw materials” of the European Union (EU) has identified twenty commodities as being critical; some of them are used in high-technology products and green technologies (EU, 2014). Austria hosts numerous mineralizations with significant potential of the rare high-tech metals germanium, gallium, indium and cobalt, as indicated by chemical data of sulphide ore concentrates. In situ measurements of trace elements in natural sphalerite samples using LA-ICP-MS are hampered by a lack of homogenous matrix-matched sulphide reference materials available for calibration. The preparation of the MUL-ZnS1 calibration material containing the trace elements V, Cr, Mn, Co, Ni, Cu, Ga, Ge, As, Se, Mo, Ag, Cd, In, Sn, Sb, Tl, and Pb besides Zn, Fe and S is reported. The results show that MUL-ZnS-1 is an appropriate material for calibrating trace element determination in sphalerite using LA-ICP-MS. The three investigated ore types are: (1)Carbonate-hosted “Alpine-type“ or “Bleiberg-type“ deposits hosted by Triassic limestones and dolomites of the Drau Range and the Northern Calcareous Alps are characterized by low Fe, high Cd (~2000 µg/g), Ge (200-400 µg/g) and Tl concentrations (~100 µg/g) in sphalerite and by the absence of Co (max. 1 µg/g), Cu, Ni. The Lafatsch deposit hosted in the Northern Calcareous Alps is a special case within this Group, hosting high amounts of Ag, but lower amounts in Mn, Ge, As and Tl compared to the other deposits of this type. (2)In the Austroalpine nappe system, SEDEX-type deposits are known from the Graz Paleozoic and the Gurktal nappe. The Pb-Zn-Ba ores located in the Graz Paleozoic (Styria) formed in the Lower Devonian in a euxinic basin structure associated with submarine alkaline volcanism (Weber 1990). In a sphalerite concentrate from the deposit Arzberg-Haufenreith, 10 µg/g Ge, 11 µg/g Ga, 1800 µg/g Cd, 29 µg/g In, and 5 µg/g Tl have been reported (Cerny and Schroll, 1995). In-situ LA-ICP-MS measurements of sphalerite grains collected from five ancient mining sites and one exploration adit reveal a large variation of trace element concentrations with median values of 4.7 wt% Fe, 1832 µg/g Cd, 138 µg/g Co, 18 µg/g Ag, 9 µg/g Ga, 0.36 µg/g Ge, 1 µg/g In, 1 µg/g Sn and 5 µg/g Sb. Maximum values reach 220 µg/g for Ge, 399 µg/g for Ag and 83 µg/g for In. SEDEX deposits hosted in Palaeozoic units outside the Graz Palaeozoic like Meiselding (Gurktal nappe), sphalerite carries up to 1900 µg/g In, 250 µg/g Ge, 65 µg/g Ga, 282 µg/g Co and 2.9 wt% Cd. In the Walchen deposit located in Koralm-Wölz nappe system is characterised by high In values (98 µg/g) but low values in Co (55 µg/g), Ga (1.53 µg/g) and Ge (0.07 µg/g). Sphalerite from the Leogang deposit hosted by upper Silurian-Middle Devonian dolomite (Südfazies-Dolomit) showed the most elevated In concentrations (Md= 247 µg/g), the measured values for Ga (1.05 µg/g), Ge (0.11 µg/g) and Co (128 µg/g) are in the range of the other investigated SEDEX deposits. (3)Vein deposits of different genesis and age are widespread in the Eastern Alps. Pb-Zn-mineralization at Vellach-Metnitz in the Gurktal Nappe (Carintia) unit shows vein-like NW-SE trending structures (WEBER, 1997). Metnitz, sphalerite carries up to 65 µg/g In, 924 µg/g Ge, 381µg/g Ga, 679 µg/g Co and 4380 µg/g Cd. High indium concentrations have been previously reported for the Zn-Cu-Pb veins of Koprein (Palaeozoic of the Karawanken Range). Our LA-ICP-MS analyses of sphalerite show between 10 and 35 µg/g In (maximum 276 µg/g), Ge up to 2.2 µg/g, Ga 0,8- 9,8 µg/g, Co 217- 1221 µg/g, Cd 1121- 3560 µg/g, and Fe 2.8 – 6.5 wt%. The Achselalm-Flecktrogalm deposit hosted in the Habach Group only contains slightly elevated Ga concentration (26 µg/g), In (1.5 µg/g) and Co 59 (µg/g) are low compared to the other vein-type deposits, Ge is below detection limit.

Details

Translated title of the contributionHoch Technologie Metall Potential von Sphalerit in Ostalpinen Blei-Zink Lagerstätten und die Entwicklung eines Matrix mached Referenzmaterials für die in situ Spurenelement Analytik mittels Laser Ablation Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (LA-ICP-MS)
Original languageEnglish
QualificationDr.mont.
Awarding Institution
Supervisors/Advisors
  • Hauzenberger, Christoph Anton, Assessor B (external), External person
  • Melcher, Frank, Assessor A (internal)
Publication statusPublished - 2018

HIGH-TECH METAL POTENTIAL OF SPHALERITE FROM EASTERN ALPINE LEAD-ZINC DEPOSITS AND DEVELOPMENT OF A MATRIX-MATCHED SPHALERITE (ZnS) CALIBRATION MATERIAL (MUL-ZnS-1) FOR CALIBRATION OF IN SITU TRACE ELEMENT MEASUREMENTS BY LASER ABLATION INDUCTIVELY COUPLED PLASMA MASS SPECTROMETRY (LA-ICP-MS)

Publikationen: Thesis / StudienabschlussarbeitDissertationForschung

Autoren

Abstract

Die “Ad-Hoc working group on defining critical raw materials” der Europäischen Union identifizierte im Jahr 2014 zwanzig Rohstoffe als kritisch. Einige dieser Rohstoffe werden in der Hochtechnologie Produkten und in „grüner“ Technologie eingesetzt (EU, 2014). Für die Spurenelementanalyse an Sphalerit mittels LA-ICP-MS stehen keine homogenen Referenzmaterialien zur Verfügung. Bei dem LA-ICP-MS Messverfahren treten eine Vielzahl von polyatomaren Interferenzen (z.B. ArS+ an allen Ge+ Isotopen), und Fraktionierungseffekte (z.B. Schwefel) durch die Ablation bzw. die Ionisierung im Plasma auf. Um diese Einflüsse zu minimieren bzw. unterdrücken war die Entwicklung eines Referenzmaterials notwendig, welches der Sphalerit Matrix entspricht und dessen Spurenelementkonzentrationen in einem Bereich liegen, welcher der natürlicher Zinkblende entspricht. Im ersten Teil wird die Entwicklung dieses Referenzmaterials (MUL-ZnS-1) beschrieben, welches die Elemente V, Cr, Mn, Co, Ni, Cu, Ga, Ge, As, Se, Mo, Ag, Cd, In, Sn, Sb, Tl und Pb neben Zn, Fe und S (als Matrix) beinhaltet. Die Homogenität wurde mittels EPMA und LA-ICP-MS bestätigt, welche das MUL-ZnS-1 zu einem geeignetem Referenzmaterial für Sphalerit ausweist. Bei den drei untersuchten Vererzungstypen handelt es sich um: (1)Karbonatgebundene „Alpine-Type“ oder „Typ Bleiberg“ Blei-Zinklagerstätten der triassischen Karbonate im Drauzug und den nördlichen Kalkalpen, welche sich durch niedrige Fe, hohe Cd (~2000 µg/g), Ge (200- 400 µg/g) und Tl Konzentrationen um die 100 µg/g im Sphalerit hervorheben. Weiters ist Sphalerit aus diesem Typ nahezu frei von Co, Cu und Ni. Das Vorkommen Lafatsch scheint eine Ausnahme zu sein, da dort im Gegensatz zu Sphalerit aus dem Drauzug (nahezu Ag frei) erhöhte Ag Konzentrationen (Md= 43 µg/g), aber erniedrigte Mn, Ge, As und Tl Werte nachgewiesen wurden. (2)In den Ostalpen sind SEDEX- Vorkommen im Grazer Paläozoikum (Steiermark) und in der Gurktaler Decke (Kärnten) und aus dem Koralm-Wölz Deckensystem bekanntFrühere Analysen an Sphaleritkonzentraten von Cerny und Schroll (1995) ergaben Werte für Ge = 10 µg/g, Ga = 11 µg/g, Cd = 1800 µg/g, In 29 µg/g und Tl 5 µg/g. In-situ LA-ICP-MS Analysen an Sphalerit von 20 unterschiedlichen Lokalitäten zeigten eine große Variation innerhalb des Erzbezirkes, Lokalität bis hin zum Maßstab einer Probe. Medianwerte von 4.7 wt% Fe, 1832 µg/g Cd, 138 µg/g Co, 18 µg/g Ag, 9 µg/g Ga, 0.4 µg/g Ge, 1 µg/g In, und 5 µg/g Sb wurden errechnet. Im Vorkommen Haufenreith konnten maximal Gehalte für In von 82 µg/g, die höchsten Ag Werte in Sphalerit von Arzberg (3556 µg/g), das maximale Ge mit 209 µg/g in Guggenbach nachgewiesen werden. Sphalerit aus dem SEDEX Vorkommen Meiselding in der Gurktaler Decke inkorporierte bis zu 1900 µg/g In, 250 µg/g Ge, 65 µg/g Ga, 282 µg/g Co und 2.9 wt% Cd. Das Vorkommen Walchen (Koralm-Wölz Deckensystem) ist gekennzeichnet durch hohe In (98 µg/g) aber geringe Co (55 µg/g), Ga (1.5 µg/g und Ge (0.1 µg/g) Gehalte. Eine Sonderstellung bei diesem Lagerstättentypus nimmt das Vorkommen Leogang (Salzburg), welches in Ober Silurischen bis Mittel Devonischen Dolomiten eingebettet ist. Hier wurden die höchsten In Werte gemessen, welche einen Median von 247 µg/g ergaben, wobei aber Ga (1 µg/g), Ge (0.1 µg/g) und Co (59 µg/g) im Durchschnitt der SEDEX Vorkommen liegen. (3)Ganglagerstätten unterschiedlicher Genese und Alter sind ein weitverbreiteter Vererzungstyp der Ostalpen. Sphalerit aus der Pb-Zn Mineralisation Vellach-Metnitz in der Gurktaler Decke (Kärnten) weist maximal Konzentrationen an In 65 µg/g, Ge 924 µg/g, Ga 381 µg/g Co 679 µg/ und 4380 µg/g Cd auf. In Werte im Vorkommen Koprein liegen zwischen 10 und maximal 276 µg/g. Koprein zeichnet sich auch durch seine hohen Co Gehalte (217- 1221 µg/g) aus. Die Ganglagerstätte Achselalm-Flecktrogalm ist nur durch leicht erhöhte Ga (26 µg/g) gekennzeichnet.

Details

Titel in ÜbersetzungHoch Technologie Metall Potential von Sphalerit in Ostalpinen Blei-Zink Lagerstätten und die Entwicklung eines Matrix mached Referenzmaterials für die in situ Spurenelement Analytik mittels Laser Ablation Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (LA-ICP-MS)
OriginalspracheEnglisch
QualifikationDr.mont.
Gradverleihende Hochschule
Betreuer/-in / Berater/-in
  • Hauzenberger, Christoph Anton, Beurteiler B (extern), Externe Person
  • Melcher, Frank, Beurteiler A (intern)
StatusVeröffentlicht - 2018